Abolish Registration...Please!
brism1948
Posted 2011-02-25 8:48 PM (#41351)
Subject: Abolish Registration...Please!
New User

Is there any possibility that the ludicrous and time consuming process of 'registration' may soon be abolished. If and when it is abolished, then I will happily resume my visits to Moscow.
I am a UK citizen and resident married to a Russian citizen and each time we have visited Moscow to see my wife's elderly mother, I have been subjected to the horrendous procedure of registration which on each occasion has entailed either waiting for hours in a queue with dozens of potential immigrants or trying to find some office in an obscure off the beaten track location. Also, because my elderly mother in law has been my sponsor it has been necessary for her to accompany me and for her to complete various forms etc. On one occasion the officials could not complete my registration after hours of queuing on the first day (A Friday), so they had to keep my passport over the weekend for me to pick up on the Monday after yet more hours of queuing and worrying with my mother in law (Very worrying). Fortunately, I was not stopped by the militsia over that weekend as all I had was a photocopy of my passport.
To me, the whole process is ridiculous, unnecessary and time consuming and casts a large dark shadow over my visits to Moscow; so much so that I have stopped going there. We often invite Russian friends of my wife to visit us in the UK and there is no need for them to register here. Why can it not work like that both ways?
Mel
Posted 2011-02-26 4:49 PM (#41376 - in reply to #41351)
Subject: RE: Abolish Registration...Please!

Expert